ETI Changes for Special Economic Zones

Author: Brandon Louw

    less than 1 minute read    

As from  1 August 2018, the criteria for employees who qualify for ETI have been amended for those working in Special Economic Zones (SEZs).

What are Special Economic Zones (SEZs)?

Special Economic Zones (SEZs) within South Africa are geographically designated areas set aside for specifically targeted economic activities to promote national economic growth and export. This is achieved through support measures to attract foreign and domestic investments and technology.  The 6 SEZs are:

  • Coega
  • Dube Trade Port
  • East London
  • Maluti-A-Phofung
  • Saldanha Bay
  • Richards Bay
  • What changed?

    If employers and employers work within a SEZ there is no longer an age limit for employees who qualify for ETI. For the age qualifying test to fall away, the following two requirements must be satisfied:

  • The employer must have a fixed place of business within one of the 6 designated SEZs, and
  • The employee must render services to that employer mainly within a SEZ.
  • If you operate within a SEZ and would like to apply these changes on SimplePay, check out our updated ETI help page here.

    Team SimplePay