Skip to content

How do I delete/close my account?

If you no longer wish to use SimplePay but have historical data that you may need to access (for example, while you are migrating to another system), we don't recommend deleting your account. Instead, you can do one of the following:

  • Make your employees inactive on the system by ending their service so that you do not get charged for them.
  • Close your account on SimplePay. Confirm that you have not ticked the box to close your account immediately. You will then have read-only access to your account for 3 (three) months, after which the account will automatically be closed. Any outstanding balance on your account will still need to be settled. See more detailed steps below.
  • Request that your account be frozen. You will have access to your account for 3 (three) months, after which the account will automatically be closed.

If you are certain that you do not need any of the data in your SimplePay account, you can close it yourself or request that it be closed, as described below.

Close Your Account on SimplePay

To close your account:

  1. Go to the Profile icon ( ) > Billing > Billing Preferences.
  2. Click the Need to close your account? link.
  3. In the Reason for closing the account drop-down, select a reason. If you select "Missing functionality" or "Other", complete the Missing Functionality or Other reason field that appears.
  4. (Optional) Add further information in the Additional feedback field.
  5. If you would like to close your account immediately, tick the Close account immediately? box.
  6. Click Close Account. A pop-up will then appear, where you can Confirm or Cancel this request.

Pop-up message

The pop-up will contain a message with one of the following outcomes:

  • If you do not wish to close your account immediately, you will have read-only access for 3 (three) months before you lose access to your account data.
  • If there is no outstanding balance on your account, no card payment is awaiting confirmation from your bank, and you wish to close your account immediately, you will immediately lose access to your account data and will be unable to log back in to your account.
  • If you have an outstanding balance on your account, or a card payment is still awaiting confirmation from your bank, and you wish to close your account immediately, you will have read-only access while we await payment. What happens next depends on the payment:

    • If the payment is confirmed, your account will be closed.
    • If your bank declines the card payment, the Account Owners on your account will receive an email to let them know, and the amount will be outstanding on your account again.
    • If payment is not received within 3 (three) months, your account will be closed automatically at the end of that period, but the outstanding amount will still be payable.

Card payments awaiting confirmation

When you click Pay Now (under Outstanding Balance) to pay by card, your bank may not confirm the payment straight away. If it doesn't, you'll see the message "Card Payment Submitted: awaiting confirmation from your bank." If you then close your account immediately, you'll have read-only access while we await payment, as described above.

Who can close an account

Only Account Owners and Admin users with full access can close a SimplePay account. See the Roles help page for more information on user roles.

Request That Your Account Be Frozen or Closed

Requests for accounts to be frozen or closed should be made in writing by an Account Owner or an Admin user with full access on the profile; however, we strongly recommend closing your account using the steps above. To request that your account be frozen or closed, click the Help icon ( ) in the top right corner once you've logged in to SimplePay, and then go to Support. Any outstanding payments have to be made to SimplePay by no later than 14 (fourteen) calendar days from the date your account is terminated, as per our Terms of Service.